by Barbara O'Flaherty [courtesy of Dundalk Leader]
Designed by Sir John McNeil around 1850, Clarke Station is situated at track level beneath the surrounding street level and is the finest station on the main Dublin - Belfast line. ilding at road level leads to a covered walkway down to the four platforms with their impressive glazed roofing. A small ticket office building and modern waiting room at road level whereas the station proper with its four magnificent metal and glass platforms is beneath this at track level. The two sections are connected by a Victorian covered walkway. The station proper is made up of several buildings set between the two main platforms and surrounded by cast iron and glass canopies. The polychromic brickwork is finely detailed with window and door surrounds executed in different colours. There is a well preserved signal box further down the main platform. A museum exists in what used to be the first class waiting room. Until fairly recent times, signage still existed on the platforms for stations and lines now closed namely Monaghan, Clones and Newbliss. There are some very old but unfortunately neglected railway sheds belonging to the former GNR Works. It has been said to be the finest station on the Dublin-Belfast line. It was given the name Clarke on 10 April 1966 in commemoration of Tom Clarke, one of the executed leaders of the Easter Rising of 1916. It has won many awards the old fashioned Ladies waiting room being the feature always cited by the awards panel for special consideration. It is almost unique in the country and a true treasure for Dundalk.